AFS, CMI Announce 2004-05 Execs

June 10, 2004
Neenah’s Kurtti takes top spot

Prior to the start of its 108th Metalcasting Congress in Rosemont, IL, the American Foundry Society (AFS) and its affiliate Cast Metals Institute (CMI) announced new officers and directors for the 2004-05 term.

The new officers and directors will be installed during the AFS President’s Luncheon & Annual Business Meeting during the Metalcasting Congress, June 12-15. They will join the 22 AFS and 9 CMI board members retaining their positions from the 2003-04 term.

AFS named as its president Charles M. Kurtti, the now-retired executive vice president of Neenah Foundry Co., Neenah, WI. The vice president will be James L. Keffer, president of EBAA Iron Sales Inc., Eastland, TX, while the 2nd vice president will be Albert T. Lucchetti, president of Cumberland Foundry, Cumberland, RI.

AFS directors for the 2004-05 term are: from the Ontario Chapter (Group C) Region 1—Dana Coulombe, Regional Sales Manager of Foseco Canada Inc., Guelph, ON; from the Texas Chapter (Group M), Region 5, Stephen H. Reynolds, foundry general manager of Lufkin Industries in Lufkin, TX; and, from the Washington Chapter (Group O), Stephen L. Morel, president of Ballard Brass & Aluminum in Seattle.

Directors-at-Large for 2004-05 will be Frank C. Headington, v.p. - corporate technology for Neenah Foundry; James R. Larson, exec. vice president, ThyssenKrupp Waupaca, Waupaca, WI; and Joseph Tinebra, product manager for the Americas, Morganite Crucible Inc., Wallingford, CT.

The 2004-05 directors of the Cast Metal Institue will be Stephen Ducharme, technical sales director for H. Kramer & Co., Chicago; Michael Trzecinski, Vice President, EMSCO Inc., Massillon, OH; and Scott M. Strobl, v.p.-Technology, Simpson Technologies Corp., Aurora, IL. (Strobl is filling the unexpired 2003-2007 term.)

Directors of AFS and CMI hold their positions for a four-year term. AFS officers rotate through one-year terms in four executive posts (2nd vice president, vice president, president, immediate past president.)